I need some modern soul recommendations...

GuzzoGuzzo 8,611 Posts
edited July 2005 in Strut Central
OK ebay is mad cheap right now and is pretty much a buyers paradise. All the eurodudes are on vacation and I'm bout to come up...problem is I am wetmouth newbie still at modern osul, but I'm a wetmouth newbie with money in his paypal account.I want some good quality stuff modern soul-wise but don't know what to get.In the last week I've bought up some nice titles like the Delfonics "return" (Poogy) and Al Johnson "Peaceful" (Marina)-thanks MM, but now I ned more and I gotta act fast before those damn frencies and germ-os come back and fuck everything up. So modern osul heads (redgreg, danceonamerica, supergood, etc.) help me out!

Comments

• RaystarRaystar 1,106 Posts
    Al Johnson "Peaceful"

"Let me love you like you want to be loooooooooved..."

Thats my joint.

You probably already have this but I really like "The Love You Give" by Webster Lewis...

• GuzzoGuzzo 8,611 Posts
    Al Johnson "Peaceful"

Thats my joint.

You probably already have this but I really like "The Love You Give" by Webster Lewis...

I might, but I ain't sure, whats the cover look like? I know I got 8 for the 80's and some otehr joint but I've smoked selected album titles right out of my brainium

• VitaminVitamin 631 Posts
    Jefree

Khemistry

• GuzzoGuzzo 8,611 Posts
    Jefree

found a VG- to VG copy locally for $1.99. played it, and liked it but the noise in the background was getting to me. Is this one of thoe raer lps that goes for a bazillion bucks but looks like a .99 piece of crap?

Khemistry

always meant to pick up the reissue just so I could take a listen. Whats the sound on this? mostly uptempo boogie, or mellow mellow?

• soulmarcosasoulmarcosa 4,296 Posts
    Leprechaun: Loc-It-Up 12"

Or maybe it's "boogie"?

• VitaminVitamin 631 Posts
    Jefree is semi-rare, I suppose. I paid 18 for it at TSL in New York. It's nice though.