How Inappropriate is Too Inappropriate (Wedding-R)

DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
edited January 2009 in Strut Central
A couple of my friends are getting married in a few months, and they've asked me to DJ. I've never done a wedding before, but they like the stuff I normally spin, which is hip hop, soul, and rock. They really want the dance portion to jump off, so the question is, how much swearing, n-bombs, etc. is acceptable in that context? Do I need to find clean versions of everything? I still dinosaur it with vinyl, so keep that in mind.

Comments

• The_NonThe_Non 5,691 Posts
    My friend's Catholic wedding they were humpin on the floor to Shorty Got Low, so I'd say don't worry too much.

• u betta have your smooth shit on hand.

Daddy doesnt want to hear Efil4zaggin during the cocktail hour

• Once the dancefloor pops off then it's kind of like the drinks themselves - everyone just pretends the next day that they didn't see their aunt freaking to Flo-Rida.

• verb606verb606 2,518 Posts
    It kinda depends on the timing. If dancefloor time is later and a lot of the older folks and kids have gone home, then you can just kick it clurb style.

Maybe have clean versions of the really big songs that might need to get played earlier when grandpa and the 8 year old grandchildren are dancing together?

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    u betta have your smooth shit on hand.

Daddy doesnt want to hear Efil4zaggin during the cocktail hour

Nah, they have a jazz band lined up for cocktails, and I'll be doing latin/jazz/Euro-sophisticate midtempo shit for dinner a la Beatfanatic. I'm more interested in whether the line occurs before or after the Meterhead remix of Drunk As F*ck.

• DongerDonger 854 Posts