Where's the rest of your band at?

hemolhemol 2,578 Posts
edited April 2008 in Strut Central
Known fact that there an ample amount of strutters "makin beatz".How many of you play in bands, or play real time music?I have no band, but my friend Ben and I have played music on and off for the last 5 or 6 years. Here's him on the drums and me on the guitar. Improvised:http://www.zshare.net/audio/99817140ae5462/

Comments

• SPlDEYSPlDEY Vegas 3,375 Posts
    Real interesting guitar sounds you're getting there man, just Reverb?.

I'm a guitarist for a newish soul band here in Vegas.

I wish I had enough money to buy the gear to make beats in my bedroom. But for now, I gotta do the real instrument thing.

Eventually I'm gonna get some tape machines and teach myself to record proper. But for now we got a little digital setup in my garage.

We've been together for about a year now, and I need to get back to recording.

http://www.myspace.com/dopamineflux

(check out La Reina, it's my favorite from the session)

- spidey

• skelskel You can't cheat karma 5,033 Posts
    I play guitar well enough to be in an occasional band. Used to gig on the semi-regular in pubs and local dives. Here's an awful band name for you: Batman's Pants. I play a ropey '69 Strat and a '90 PRS. I find it less alluring to play live these days than was once the case. Mine and the band's 'musical direction' has diverged over these 25 years. Maaaan. I want to be George Benson or Ryo Kawasaki and they want me to be more Paul Weller. That ain't a match made in heaven.

I have an old 8 track recording 'desk', drum machines, roland guitar synth etc for homemade one-man-band purposes. One day I may get round to tranferring to cd. I may even go for some 'private press' (aka vanity publishing) action and try to slip a few pre-weathered copies into the wild and see if they end up on ebay in 5 years time as some long lost psych raer. That's my aim anyway.

• DustedDonDustedDon 830 Posts