Australia apologizes to Aborigines...

djsheepdjsheep 3,620 Posts
edited January 2008 in Strut Central
I think the new prime minister is iighthttp://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080130/ap_o...T5_I6Yu7BNn.3QAif you want background on the "stolen generations" i suggest watching the movie titled RABBIT PROOF FENCE.peace.

Comments

• RABBIT PROOF FENCE is awesome. 10 canoes blew my mind too, I love that movie.

It's good to see this and Kyoto going down as promised.

• nzshadownzshadow 5,518 Posts

Rabbit Proof Fence is unreal. true story and she did it TWICE!

I worked as a postie for 1 year in Redfern Sydney.

I delivered to 'the block' every day. Some days i was the only white person to walk in that area all day, the shit i saw there still haunts me today. I spent many an afternoon in tears after returning from my run: poverty, addiction, abuse, extreme violence, squalor... one day i counted 79 used syringes on the ground in a one block radius.

i saw small Aboriginal children (toddlers) playing with used syringes while policemen watched and laughed. i saw a woman have her head beaten in with a piece of wood while her children watched. i saw people living in conditions that were unfit for any creature. all this in the year 2000 in the city that was hosting the Olympics.

The way those people have been treated is so horrific it is just unbelievable. I sincerely hope that this apology is the first step in a genuine shift in the country's attitude towards its original inhabitants, both officially and on a social level.

• kicks79kicks79 1,334 Posts
    I would like to think and hope so too. The australian public were ready for a full apology years ago. It was only the small minded liberal govt that prevented that from happening. The Intervention in the NT is unfortunately a horrible reminder about the crimes of the past returning to haunt us.