Your favourite least-liked drum programeurs

2»

Comments

• RJD2

I know this guy gets a fair amount of hate on SS, but some of his drum programming (around the time of the Soul Position LP) was nuts.
    Yeah I know he???s loop based but there are some things going with his drums that are clearly the result of great programming.

• I'd say we've got a couple of heavy hitters on the board when it comes to drums - step forward Day and Ako.

• erewhonerewhon 1,123 Posts
    Jazzy Jay is a personal favorite that almost never gets any mention. Dude was a drummer by trade before even messing with production and it shows. Especially in his late 80s tracks, even the samples are often layered in a very percussive way...sort of a precursor to Premier's sound.

Schooly D's skill doesn't begin and end with "P.S.K." either. All of the drums from the "Saturday Night" era and before are ill and sound like nobody else's.

• CosmoCosmo 9,768 Posts

DJ Shadow (not a "drum programmer" in the same sense, but a master at adding small nuances to his drums and making a dope break even better)

I know what you mean I guess, but even if you only take this one example, his drum programming on 'Guns Blazing' off the Unkle album was the very definition of

Not to detract from Shadow, but that's a straight loop pretty much I think.

Just to counter that - given that I have heard the guns blazing track and also have the record he took those drums from, I can pretty much certify that it is not a strtaight loop.

I just listened to them back to back and they're not that much different. Just saying, the Tullio break is fresh as hell though.

• DuderonomyDuderonomy Haut de la Garenne 7,785 Posts
    the drums on The Prodigy's "Fat Of The Land" are amongst the best ever heard...