SPORTS TALK RADIO - YAY OR NAY?

SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
edited October 2007 in Strut Central
Being a truck driver by profession, the radio is very importantto my daily experience. Being a full-blown sports junkie, I findsports radio to be irresistable ... yet, I also find it often to beunlistenable. Here in Boston we have the highest-rated sportsradio station in the USA, WEEI AM. The early-afternoon show isthe only one I can take, as it features two relatively mellow hostsdiscussing sports in a somewhat calm manner. The drive-time show,"The Big Show," can be so incredibly annoying, as the 3 or 4 hostswill spend hours hollering at each other, all talking at the same time,and seeming more concerned with bad and usually tasteless jokesthan actual sports analysis. The main problem with all the shows,though, is how one subject every day, often the latest scandal insteadof an actual sports story, will be ALL that is discussed for hours.I mean, anyone who can sit through 8 hours of Patriots "Spygate" orwhether Manny is REALLY injured has to be some kind of super-human.Anyway, in the end, I say YAY but with the wish that it were different,not so often a disappointment in approach and execution.Rep your local sports talk radio experience, and let us know - yay or nay?

Comments

• pacmanpacman 1,114 Posts
    Gambo and Ash - 620AM ESPN radio in Phoenix in the afternoons. Love their show and actually call in sometimes. Good chemistry on the airwaves and have lots of fans out here. I dig Rome nationally though.

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
    actually call in sometimes.

I've called in a couple of times, but it is very frustrating - they
    tend to just let you say one thing and then jump off from there,
    never letting you back in the conversation. I called about the Bruins,
    and dude was like "let's compare it to the Patriots, and how they blah
    blah blah ... " and it somehow became a Patriots discussion ...