Who grew up in a family with financial constraints

yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
edited August 2007 in Strut Central
and has made it. Enough so that they could give back to their family and help 'em out?I wanna do something for a living that I enjoy doing, but I also wanna be able to give back to my family as well, especially since my family is in a real tight situation these days, and my mom is hella stressing over financial matters. Enough that it takes away from her overall well-being and livelihood. We're middle-class, and I'm sure there's a bunch of others that are below the poverty line but I do wanna point out that we have problems of our own.When people don't have money, all others problems are magnified. What yall do to make it through? What are some tips on "making it to the other side"?I think I am getting in a situation (for better or worse), where "There's no other option but to succeed".

Comments

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    I'm a realist. I know what my abilities are and what my limitations are, and if anything I have a "hope". Don't worry, just venting a lil bit after my conversation with my mom. Hope you don't mind.

• johmbolayajohmbolaya 4,472 Posts
    "I wasn't living rich, and I also wasn't poor/I try to appreciate, but I deserve more"

I can't speak for everyone here, but I know as a kid I looked at a lot of my friends and we were in similar situations. I remember when my dad (r.i.p.) got laid off from his elevator job (Otis). We had to move around a bit, and it lead to about two months of eating tuna and rice. I realize having a roof and eating tuna & rice is a lot more luxurious than what a lot of other people had. Having a quarter for lunch was great, having an extra quarter to eat "ice cake" (frozen guava or passion orange juice in those wax paper cups with the blue or pink swirl) was a treat.