Record cleaning machines

mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
edited August 2007 in Strut Central
Ok - I think I'm ready to step up to the prime time. I've heard there are now more affordable options to the VPI. Recommendations from those in the know?

Comments

• novasolnovasol 204 Posts
    I'll this question for ya...as I'm also considering non-manual record cleaning options.

VPI -vs- Ultrasonic???

• DJBombjackDJBombjack Miami 1,665 Posts
    It's The Nitty Gritty

They have some slightly cheaper although not as good machines too.

BTW i'd really wouldn't mind one of these...

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
    It's The Nitty Gritty

I thought there was something even less $ than the Nitty Gritty but worked on the same basic system.

• canonicalcanonical 2,100 Posts
    How does the Nitty Gritty $325 model compare to the VPI $500 model?

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    I've been using that Nitty Gritty for 17 years.

It is loud as anything with a vaccum cleaner in it will be.

It had that wetting pump but it broke down early on and I took it out and packed it with foam to quite it. You want to wet by hand anyway.

If you clean a lot of records one after the other it gets real hot. I found a computer fan at surplus store cheap, cut a hole in the side and stuck it in.

I have replaced the motor and other parts. The folks at Nitty Gritty are real good at helping you keep the thing running.

I've always wished I had gotten the vpi instead. Grass greener and all that.

What about the Monk?

• SnagglepusSnagglepus 1,756 Posts
    It's The Nitty Gritty

I thought there was something even less $ than the Nitty Gritty but worked on the same basic system.

There's the EV-1 which you have to hook up to a vacuum cleaner. That runs for $159.

• VPI dudes.

• FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts
    VPI dudes.

VPI dudes.

The $500 model sufficient?