RUNNING SHOES (NRR)

Skip DrinkwaterSkip Drinkwater 1,694 Posts
edited July 2007 in Strut Central
I've been running nearly every day for the last 2 years or so. I run outside, and not in a gym, and have been rockin' an old pair of New Balance's everyday when I go for a run. After experiencing some foot/knee pain, I figured I'd better step up my running shoe game. Any suggestions? I really don't care about appearance, as long as it's something that looks decent. I'm looking for something that has both comfort and support, more than anything.

Comments

• alieNDNalieNDN 2,181 Posts
    they are steep, but they are godly, ASICS Kayanos.
    http://www.amazon.com/ASICS-Mens-GEL-Kayano-XI/dp/B0006L1MU0

• TabaskoTabasko 1,357 Posts
    Don't know about the best shoes, but I want to start running with Nike+.
    Seems like a good method to keep a slacker like myself motivated.

• sabadabadasabadabada 5,966 Posts
    for all old heads with bad knees. run on the street rather than the sidewalk, its softer.

• empanadamnempanadamn 1,462 Posts
    for all old heads with bad knees. run on the street rather than the sidewalk, its softer.

with, against, and / or across traffic?

Don't know about the best shoes, but I want to start running with Nike+.
    Seems like a good method to keep a slacker like myself motivated.

i got some of those joints. they're pretty comfy and light as fuck. i got them for cheap; $30 or $40 at paragon in nyc. i think apple & nike collabo'ed on something for this shoe. whatever that feature is, i'm not using it.

• batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
    I would stay w/ New Balance, but put some $$$ on it. If not go to a Runners Shop and do some research.

• I would stay w/ New Balance, but put some $$$ on it. If not go to a Runners Shop and do some research.
    I thought about getting a pair of those shock-absorbant inserts, but I thought getting a new pair altogether may be the best idea. Anyone use those while running? Good idea?