LIVE FROM MOSCOW - Photos, Records, Review...

djsheepdjsheep 3,620 Posts
edited June 2007 in Strut Central
** THREE SETS OF PHOTOS TO ACCOMPANY THIS POST ARE HERE --http://www.flickr.com/photos/djsheep/setsHowdy,Reporting live from Moscow, Russia! This is an awesome city! Everyone can throw away their pre-conceptions about this country out the window - It's not always cold (some days its over 30 degrees celsius and I've mostly sported shorts), people are not miserable, there are no bears on the street, nor huge line-ups for bread and milk. The mafia is present, as is corruption, but it's rarely seen by the casual traveller (the same applies for most parts of the world). Moscow is a very modern and hip city and I've had some amazing experiences thus far.I came out here to DJ for the Australian Trade Commission who put on an event at the Swissotel Hotel called the "Australian Beach Party". A great Melbourne blues band called "72 Blues", a world-class Aussie chef and a bad DJ (myself) were flown in to provide the live entertainment for the corporate parties (Nissan, Hewlett Packard, Lufthansa, Citygroup, etc.) and public parties on the weekend. Now this was the illness, 5 star luxury hotel for 2 weeks, incredible meals, $$$$$ and other benefits, just lovely. The Swissotel is situated in the heart of Moscow -- they brought in tons of sand, a stage, a pool, a BBQ area, and built the beach out the front of the hotel at the car drop-off. For a conservative "5-star" Moscow hotel, it was considered a very risque venture! It's been great because Moscow people are really up to party and it has been one of the nicest DJ gigs at in a long time. Massive shout out to 72 Blues crew, Duffa (for the hookup), Boris, Swissotel Staff (Ged, Tamara, Diana, Swiss Cafe), Austrade and the rest of the people who have made this a memorable invasion...Records? Diggin? AMAZING. I've acquired about 100 records, over half of them new Russian discoveries (HARD AS FUCK, RAW AS FUCK OR WEIRD AS FUCK