I need to know how to handle this DJ related issue

NiteKrawler45NiteKrawler45 1,062 Posts
edited June 2005 in Strut Central
So I DJ every first Tuesday of the month at a local club, it's an all funk night and I've been working on building it up, getting bigger and bigger email lists, flyering and such over the last 5 months. I'm a resident DJ so I've been DJing there for a while. I feel I have a good fan base attending tonight, I felt good about the musical selection AND I have a guest funk DJ driving down from Baltimore who will be flying out of the area soon. My time slot is always 8:30-close, unless there is a band then it is 9:30-close. I get a call only 30 minutes ago from the bar manager, who handles everything for the owner (he schedules everything). He tells me there is a band going on at 9:00 now, AND another guest band going on after them. Says he doesn't know when they'll be done, but expects between 11:30pm and 12:00am. This is a Tuesday, and the bar closes up shop upstairs round 1:00am, people are out by 1 or 1:30. I told him I'd call him back and I'm not sure what to say yet. It was a heated conversation to say the least. Basically, I've been scheduled over. I'm sitting here losing it more and more by the minute, please help me calm down and thow in suggestions on how I should handle this. thanks guys.

Comments

• i'm guessing maybe this the first time for you...

it is always the worst the first time.

it just takes time, very few djs are NOT looked at as expendable by clubs owners and bookers.

not much you can do but relax and make it clear to them that you will walk if they try and do this again to you.

• i feel for you homie

• NiteKrawler45NiteKrawler45 1,062 Posts