Sample clearance question

Comments

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
    Another "urban myth" about sampling that I hear is that
    if you only press "promo" copies, you don't have to clear
    samples...is there any truth to this??

• MondeyanoMondeyano Reykjavik 863 Posts
    !!!

Nothing to add but this: Wikipedia article on Poor Man's Copyright explains a little on that tip.

• interesting. if i claimed it was a parody of sampling laws and not of the music that was sampled.... then what? does the song have to be a parody of the song that was sampled to be considered "fair use" ala luke and roy? or can the claim that by blatantly sampling whatever I want to make fun of sampling laws stand on its own ground?

I would think that the idea has merit; that it falls within a legit definition of parody. but i'm not a lawyer.

The main thing is that I don't think you truly understand what parody is. It's not just making fun of a song, and sampling itself isn't even close to parody. I'm not saying I'm a legal scholar here and fully understand parody, but parody generally means a comment upon the original song or idea, not just making fun of it. For instance, Weird Al always gets permission for his "parodies" because technically he could be sued because simply making fun of a song isn't protected.

It's been a while, but back when I was in college I had to take a class called "Legal Problems & The Recording Industry" and the 2 Live Crew case is one of those landmark intellectual property cases. The judge ruled that the 2 Live Crew song was a commentary upon the original and fell within the scopes of parody, which falls under fair use. Fair use is basically to protect the right to criticize or comment, or to allow use of materials in an educational environment. The thing a lot of people don't realize is that anything being claimed as a "fair use" is an admission of copyright infringement.

For something to be "fair use" it basically has to pass a 4-prong test: