How to study for the GRE...(NRR)

GnatGnat 1,183 Posts
edited January 2006 in Strut Central
I'm working on the Princeton Review Book right now and finding that I hate every second of my life while I study for this shit. I am horrible at standardized tests and therefore find it necessary to habituate myself to this fucking test. I cannot approach my studies with an ounce of alacrity[/b] and prefer absconding[/b] to Soulstrut for distraction. Of course, when my wife asks me if I studied, I prevaricate[/b] her questions and ask her about her day.anybody else gone or going through this? tips, advice?sux...help...~gNaT

Comments

• The_NonThe_Non 5,691 Posts
    Use the Prep CD as much as possible. Practice your pace of answering questions because time matters, and answering what is to be considered the easier earlier questions correct is more important than the uber difficult later questions. Focus on your weaknesses, but don't be too confident about your strengths. Strengthen them too.

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
    Gnat,

What worked for me was simply taking sample exams. The actual amount of knowledge you need to possess isn't the issue: it's all about familiarizing yourself to the format of the exam and developing a comfort level with that. I'd get one of those "20 sample GRE" books and just take a sample test every few days. It's tedious but that's the breaks.

• bluesnagbluesnag 1,285 Posts

in my experience, the math section the only way to study is to do as many tests as you can. learn the major types of problems. learn how to do every problem that you miss and understand that shit.

for the logic part (or whatever they call it) i think you just gotta get in the mindset of that shit. some good push-up logic mind exercise things are those puzzles called sudoku. it's the raw process of elimination puzzle shit.