audiophile needles

meshmesh 925 Posts
edited September 2005 in Strut Central
i am advising someone on their recording setup, basically, all they want to do is record their records to computer and want the highest level recording chain possible. i got him buying the mini-me AD from apogee to handle his digital conversion, and he is running his turntable through a rane ttm 56 with m44-7s. he wants to have the best recording chain possible, so i was thinking about suggesting some better needles. any audiophile needle having dudes around here?and i just thought about this, should he consider replacing the rane with an audiophile preamp specific for turntables?what are you guys working with when it comes to audiophile equipment?i am a little new to that side, being a dj/engineer and not so much the audiophilesitathomelisteningtorecords steez.

Comments

• JLRJLR 3,835 Posts
    For $89 the Audio Technica AT440ML is a great buy. Entry level audiophile. Micro line stylus.

If budget is not a problem, the now discontinued Shure V15 is a killer.

Both are MM, but true audiofools, I mean, audiophiles like the MC cartridges better.

• meshmesh 925 Posts
    thanks dude.

keep em coming people, he is on this site so i am just going to direct him to this thread.

thanks again.

• For the most part, if you are more interested in sound quality as opposed to scratching/loudness, move away from the "DJ" cartridges.

I just ordered one of these:

http://www.needlz.com/cartridges/m97xe.asp

Which is next in line to the (discontinued) V15VxMR.
    Ortofron makes a pretty good audiophile cartridge as well, which I think you can swap & use a DJ needle on.
    I forgot the model though.

If you want better overall sound quality, I would go for a good quality standalone Phono Preamp, which will most likely be better than any DJ mixer, yes even a Rane mixer.