DOUBLE K REST IN POWER

Awww man this is terrible, upsetting news. Way too young. Happy to have seen them perform live in London about 10 years ago and was able to briefly talk to both Thes and Double K after the show. Thes was a regular on the board here years ago and an all round good dude in his interactions here. PUTS had an incredible run and some of the best beats in hiphop. Period!

Comments

• staxwaxstaxwax 1,474 Posts
    ketan

• Just finished writing this in the RIP thread but Double deserves his own thread. Fuck. 

Oh my god, that's awful news. Shit. 43 years old. 

I will never forget the P show in Berkeley when I was a student there, at the student union bar or something, PACKED to hell, and the crowd was jumping so hard to "The Hang Loose" that the whole PA system cut out and they finished the song a capella and still rocked it.

Seeing Double DJ like he did as well, jumping from the mic to scratch interludes, was kinda mind blowing to me as a fresh faced turntablism nerd too. Scratching didn't have to be for 80 dudes in hoodies stock still squinting at somebody's knuckles vibrating on a stage, it was for a fucking party. Their music has been part of my life since I was fifteen. It's the rap I recommended to cloistered types in New Zealand who didn't "get" the genre yet. Some great live memories and great records.

I love his music, I hope it lives forever. Thanks for the memories. Peace to Thes and all family. Really bringing a tear to my eye.
    dizzybullstaxwax

• nzshadownzshadow 5,518 Posts
    Absolutely shit news.

My heart goes out to Mikes family & of course Thes. We all send our love.

staxwaxJimstersticky_dojah

• RAJRAJ tenacious local 7,779 Posts
    Such sad news. PUTS were an integral part of this web site's legacy.  Though he never posted on here, you knew he was down with the Strut.  RIP.