Words of advice for new sellers

jjfad027jjfad027 1,594 Posts
edited May 2015 in Strut Central
We ll I've been collecting records since 1995 with the plan that one day I would start selling them. That day is finally near. My girl friend is having a garage sale soon and I'm going to bring 200 or so and see what happens and have fun. It just feels like it's time to get rid of some doubles/tripples or things I would never listen to. My expectations aren't high at all because I really don't know what to expect. About half of them are in a $1 box and the rest are priced with plastic sleeves. None more than $40 I believe. I plan to bring a portable in case someone wants to hear something. Her neighborhood has a lot of youngish "vinyl is back!" type folks so I'll be surprised if I don't sell anything. I made sure to put a copy of Rumors in there. Does anyone have any words of wisdom for someone that is completely new to selling? Or just fun stories?

It's a bit of everything except rap/hiphop. I'm not ready to sell any of that yet, and the market seems low right now anyway.

Comments

• billbradleybillbradley You want BBQ sauce? Get the fuck out of my house. 2,885 Posts
    People shopping at garage sales expect all of the records to be $1 or less no matter what you're selling.

• jleejlee 1,539 Posts
    Honest Q: is a garage sale the best place to try and sell any records that are actually worth over $25?

Seems like most people look at garage sales as places where they will undoubtely try and negotiate down several dollars ( with the assumption that you are selling just extras or junk). I typically assume records at a garage sale will be under $5 --- with the hopes of course of finding the crazy holy grail sitting behind the seven copies of Simon & Garfunkle.

Just wondering if you honestly believe the records to be > $25 if you are just going to be saying "no" to a lot of people all day long as they try and get em for $10 each.