sniffed my first GLUE today

upskibooupskiboo 2,396 Posts
edited December 2012 in Strut Central
hoping it will turn out ok...

Comments

• What kind of glue did you use?

• finelikewinefinelikewine "ONCE UPON A TIME, I HAD A VINYL." http://www.discogs.com/user/permabulker 1,416 Posts
    it works for me like a charm. I tried different glues and ended up with this one:
    http://shop.labbe.de/bastel-basics/klebstoffe/gluo-schulkleber.html
    Quite cheap and also available in big bottles.

• upskibooupskiboo 2,396 Posts
    Horseleech said:
    What kind of glue did you use?

looks like this

no name bottle, blue juice, i want it to work but i dont want to get addickted!!!!!!!!!!!

• I guess I'm a little worried because all of the wood glues that I know of that are safe to use for this are opaque. They shouldn't have much of an odor.

It's not like I'm an expert on all of the glues out there, though.

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    Pardon my ignorance, but what are you trying to do here?

• ppadilhappadilha 2,236 Posts
    what condition are the records you do this for?

I always buy records from places where they're in pretty horrible storage conditions, so usually they're filthy, with at least a good layer of soot, sometimes mold and other things on them. Right now I use that Groovy Cleaner stuff they sell at Turntable Lab, but the little rag that came with it is pretty grimy at this point. This glue business seems very time and space consuming. Is there any other option for cleaning them that's not a VPI machine?

• JATXJATX 258 Posts
    ppadilha said: