Applications to the USA and Canada (unis - postdoc)

GropeGrope 2,970 Posts
edited December 2012 in Strut Central
do you have hints on how to write your application to american and canadian universities as a post doctoral fellow?

i'm a biologist (biomedical research) and i'm currently writing my dissertation. i have a letter of recommendation and soon 4 to 5 publications with my name on it. hopefully two as first author early next year...

can you write unsolicited applications to profs? are there only positions that have been funded already?

in your letter of interest, are you being more honest and down-to-earth?
in germany you have exaggerate about yourself and tell how fantastic you and your skills are. i don't think it's appropriate to do that in american countries? keep it simple?

i'm really not sure how to do this. any help would be appreciated

is it like in europe?

1) letter of interest
2) CV including publications
3) letter of recommendation including three reference contacts
4) diploma, reports and references

any need for project ideas and schedules?

at last: are there a website for jobs and open positions in the usa and canada? they have that in germany and it's really a big help. most universities advertise their open potions on a website (like www.jobvector.de)

Comments

• paging big stacks and mannybolone

• Big_StacksBig_Stacks "I don't worry about hittin' power, cause I don't give 'em nuttin' to hit." 4,670 Posts
    Hey Grope,