Postal Rates on Shiping Records?

volumenvolumen 2,532 Posts
edited January 2012 in Strut Central
Ok I'm new to selling record on e-bay so I'm sorry if I'm being an idiot. But......the first batch I sent out all cost $7-8 a pop media mail. Is this normal? I'm using pretty heavy duty cardboard so I'm wondering if that's an issue. A record should weight about 7 ounces plus sleeve which could put it over 10oz especially on a gatefold. My packages are weighing about 22oz so I'm using a little over the weight of the record in packing material. Should I size down my cardboard? I like to have 2 layers to make the package very sturdy.

I know I've paid this much in the past on some items. I also know I received items where the postage label on the outside was more than I paid and I felt bad for the seller just eating that.

Ebay won't allow more than $4 in the posting and when I called them they said you have to work it out with the buyer if it's more.

Thanks!!!

Comments

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    http://postcalc.usps.gov/

Are you in the US?
    Contiguous 48?

Media mail 1lb6oz should be $2.82.

Perhaps your postal clerk is pocketing the diff.

• volumenvolumen 2,532 Posts
    LaserWolf said:
    http://postcalc.usps.gov/

Are you in the US?
    Contiguous 48?

Media mail 1lb6oz should be $2.82.

Perhaps your postal clerk is pocketing the diff.

Thanks, I'm going to ask for a different clerk or a manager. It's a small town and the regular clerk tried to argue with me that I can't send record media mail. As if media only means paper!

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    There used to be an overseas media that excluded records.
    Domestically you are right they are wrong.

• buttonbutton 1,475 Posts
    Cosign w/ Laserwolf. Media doessn't cost more than 3 bucks for one LP weighing under 2 lbs. $7-8 would be nrmal for Priority. No way for media.

• bull_oxbull_ox 5,056 Posts