Scuba Diving

llmod1llmod1 317 Posts
edited September 2011 in Strut Central
Just got back from a 5 week trip to Mexico where I managed to satisfy one of my addictions, Scuba Diving (unfortunately the other addiction which we all suffer from, records, was unsatisfied!)

I've been diving now for around fifteen years and have clocked up around 200 dives. I've dived Australia, Cuba, Venezuela, Thailand (East and West Coast), Malaysia, Bali, Vietnam and Mexico.

Did my Divemaster about six years ago.

I've had plenty of cool dives. Been really lucky to encounter 3 whale sharks on random dives in Asia, did a five day live a board on the West Coast of Thailand and most recently dived in Mexico's Cenotes which were some of the best dives I've ever done.

My "white whale", Mantas and Hammerheads. Desperate to dive with both of these.

Anyway, what I want to know.

Who else here is a diver?

Where are the best spots you've dived? Why?

Where do you want to go next?

Best country to combine diving and digging?

Comments

• FrankFrank 2,370 Posts
    Always wanted to do this... there's a good chance I'll end up near good scuba diving territory when moving away from the US next year... can you still start when you're in your mid 40s and good physical shape?

Sierra Leone has to be crazy for scuba diving. When I was there, visibility was 20-30 meters, I saw ship wrecks when cruising around on a fishing boat. I did a bit of snorkeling, machete-dove for rock oysters and found a small black pearl in one of them. Had it set in a gold pendant for my wife:

If things work out like I hope they will, I might shift my focus from records to scuba diving and/or surfing (which also, I have never done but always wanted to) from next year on...

• Hi Frank, there's no age limit on diving. It really is one of the easiest physical activities. There is no competitive aspect to diving meaning that all ages and levels of fitness can participate. I've even taken out virtual non swimmers on dives!