Where does Prince stand in the pantheon of Guitar Gods?

phongonephongone 1,652 Posts
edited June 2011 in Strut Central
Saw Prince perform recently at the Inglewood Forum and dude's shredface was so effortless and melodic, it blew me away. I'm by no means a guitar expert but I have to put him in the top 100 guitar greats (living).

Exhibit A

Comments

• CosmoCosmo 9,768 Posts
    Top ten easy IMO.

• RAJRAJ tenacious local 7,779 Posts
    Cosmo said:
    Top ten easy IMO.

Really?

Top 500, Maybe.

• CosmoCosmo 9,768 Posts
    Yeah, IMO. Top ten.

Not to be a hatter but his style is some soulful pentatonic shit with a little Hendrix flash thrown in. Good, but not top 10 material or even 100, sorry.

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    I think he deserves more respect.
    I don't care for thrashing guitar solos these days as much as I did when I was young.
    Having something to say with the guitar is as important as talking loudly.

I have no problem putting him in the top ten, but I probably haven't even heard the top ten current hot guitar players.

LaserWolf said:
    I don't care for thrashing guitar solos these days as much as I did when I was young.

I have no problem putting him in the top ten, but I probably haven't even heard the top ten current hot guitar players.

Problem with Prince was his guitar work was so entrenched in overproduction and keyboards that is hard to make him out. Live he is great... has great feel, Hendrixy. But I can think of a 100 more memorable guitar players than him. Eddie Hazel, for instance.

RAJ said:
    Not to be a hatter but his style is some soulful pentatonic shit with a little Hendrix flash thrown in.

Yeah.
    I am just putting him in top ten rock guitar players.
    Best I know, rock guitar is "pentatonic shit with a little Hendrix flash thrown in". I mean Hendrix played "pentatonic shit" didn't he? If it aint pentatonic chances are it aint rock.

But I am no rock expert so I am probably wrong.