Let's talk re-edit!

disco_chedisco_che 1,115 Posts
edited January 2011 in Strut Central
I know there's people on here doing edits. Kon and Arni Kristjansson are just two that come to my mind. Who else is editing? What's your purpose? Are you just editing out parts you don't like (guitar solos) or do you extend breaks, change sequences, use filters and effects too? Are you doing it for mixtapes, for your own DJing requierements or for releasing it?

So far I have only done light edits for mixtapes to get longer transitions or to extend some favorite parts. Recently I started doing more profound changes to the songs and it's a lot of fun. There's a long list of tracks I never played out because there were always disturbing chord changes or tedious refrains that I want to adjust for my taste.

As I'm really new in this I would be interested what more experienced cats think of it:

Rhyze - Singing And Dancing (Skoluda Edit) by Skoluda

Comments

• my edits usually just consist of extending intros and breaks and taking out corny hooks. i don't mess with tempos or add kick drums & hi-hats too much as that would be getting into re-mix territory.

• WoimsahWoimsah 1,734 Posts
    Pony

• Woimsah said:
    Pony

don't ride the white pony?

• DJ_EnkiDJ_Enki 6,471 Posts
    disco_che said:
    Who else is editing? What's your purpose? Are you just editing out parts you don't like (guitar solos) or do you extend breaks, change sequences, use filters and effects too? Are you doing it for mixtapes, for your own DJing requierements or for releasing it?

I've been doing a bunch of them recently, and I'm doing all of the above--extending breaks, adding new drums, re-arranging, all of that, though I tend to go pretty light on the effects and filters and whatnot. I'm mostly doing it so I have things to play when I DJ clubbier events, but also as a way to hopefully re-introduce older songs to younger audiences.

• Nice thread!