I always wondered how Shazam worked

smoking_robotsmoking_robot 346 Posts
edited September 2010 in Strut Central

Comments

• AlmondAlmond 1,427 Posts
    One of my fave phone apps. It IDs a decent amount of international music. No super raers and takes at least 20 sec to match, but still highly recommended.

• smoking_robot said:

I met the founder 4 or 5 years ago at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona. Along with my marketing/business development duties, I was also the DJ for our company party. I talked to him a bit before I started playing and he was so confident in his product that he said that it would recognize every song I played. He obviously didn't know who I was or what I played because I don't think it picked up a single one

• DJ_EnkiDJ_Enki 6,471 Posts
    I always wondered how Kazam worked.

Oh, that's right--it didn't.

• Martin said:
    Almond said:
    No super raers and takes at least 20 sec to match, but still highly recommended.

LOL

you have a program on your cell phone that can identify almost any music, anywhere you are, being played through any source, and you're complaining it takes 20 seconds? do you remember what things were like in 2004?

It's 2010... doesn't matter what things were like in 2004, it only matters how things are supposed to be now and, more importantly, what they'll be like in 2 years... you must deal.

• DJ_Enki said:

• FortyFivan said:
    Martin said:
    Almond said:
    No super raers and takes at least 20 sec to match, but still highly recommended.

LOL

you have a program on your cell phone that can identify almost any music, anywhere you are, being played through any source, and you're complaining it takes 20 seconds? do you remember what things were like in 2004?

It's 2010... doesn't matter what things were like in 2004, it only matters how things are supposed to be now and, more importantly, what they'll be like in 2 years... you must deal.

Dude, your ego scares me sometimes