AP vs. Fairey

13»

Comments

• DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,899 Posts
    All I know is if I was a photographer and a political group that I didn't agree with used one of my photos in the same fashion to promote their cause I would want very dime of the money they raised with my image.

Photographers are getting very paranoid about their copyrights, anyone who using images without permission in a high profile manner better get ready because getting photo rights is going to be like getting samples cleared before too long.

Copyrights are an 18th century idea. Get over it.

Nah, I disagree, and I suspect if your main source of income came from copyrights you owned, then you would too.

There's certainly something to be said for making copyright clearance of all kinds more easily obtainable and perhaps less prohibitively expensive. Nonetheless, I can't say I think there's anything wrong in people asking what they consider a fair price to use their shit, whether it's an image, a sample, a lyric or whatever. Basically, the internet has fucked up the money - far too many people now believe that, if it's on the web somewhere, then it's copyright-free and fair game. Wrong.

That doesn't alter the fact that bitching about someone stealing something off you, when you stole that something to begin with, is

Charge it to the game, and move on.

There are numerous problems with our copyright laws. I have said here before.

One is that in the 1700s it took a lot of time and expense to copy something.
    Today, our computers store every copyrighted image and sound we experience with out us having to make any effort or expense.

While I am on my high horse, the constitution says that congress will make laws; "To promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries"

As the laws stand today they are not for "limited times" nor do they work to promote the arts.