English as 2nd Language related (NRR)

shawnald_reaganshawnald_reagan 318 Posts
edited January 2009 in Strut Central
Hey,I'm a first-year teacher and I just got a new student today who is ESL. He wants to learn how to comprehend and use English more effectively. As a native English speaker I can understand his frustrations but I can't bring any insight to this dilemma. Here's where I need help from ESL strutters:Generally, what frustrates you about learning English b/w any tips or suggestions on increasing understanding of English for a non-native speaker. Thanks in advance, as I know soulstrut love the kids.

Comments

• Hey,
    I'm a first-year teacher and I just got a new student today who is ESL. He wants to learn how to comprehend and use English more effectively. As a native English speaker I can understand his frustrations but I can't bring any insight to this dilemma. Here's where I need help from ESL strutters:
    Generally, what frustrates you about learning English b/w any tips or suggestions on increasing understanding of English for a non-native speaker. Thanks in advance, as I know soulstrut love the kids.

You don't have ESL professionals in your district?

• your question is a little bit vague. not to put you on the spot, but are you a certified teacher working within a school district or is this some private esl "college"?

you need to do comprehensive testing and get him to give you a writing sample before you can even begin to advise him. also, you need to do a personal interview with him and get a sense of what he really hopes to accomplish. If he plans to attend university then his ability has to be up to a particular standard; whereas, if just wants to be able to get by and express himself in daily situations that is another story.

once you get a handle on what his weaknesses are and what he hopes to accomplish, i would suggest taking a trip to your library and looking through the esl section for material that will be suitable.