Question for strutters who paint

edith headedith head 5,106 Posts
edited December 2008 in Strut Central
i took a pic of my tv while Dr. No was playing. Bond is in Jamaica and fights some henchmen who fall backwards onto boxes of Red Stripe with the 60s logob, 21b, 21img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3049/3079635662_0303dc135e_b.jpg"1b, 21b, 21I want to recreate it but i'm not too good at painting from an image. I know I can attempt to do it by grid but i'm not that confident because it's still freehand. is there a way to do it by transferring an outline directly onto the canvas like how tattoo artists do? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated

Comments

• ostost Montreal 1,375 Posts
    What about a stencil?

• batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
    Couldnt you create a transparency by printing this to clear paper or the canvas it$elf.b, 21b, 21Or doin it old school style w. a projector.b, 21b, 21Im sure theres a program that can capture the "line".b, 21b, 21Isolate then transfer.

• lambertlambert 1,166 Posts
    /font1
    font class="small"1Quote:
    /font1
    h, 21
    b, 21
    b, 21Or doin it old school style w. a projector.
    b, 21
    b, 21
    b, 21
    h, 21
    font class="post"1b, 21b, 21Easiest/Fastest method for sure.

• I'm sure there's a more modern technological way to do it, but the old school way might work...b, 21b, 21From wikipedia:b, 21A cartoon (from the Italian "cartone" and Dutch word "karton", meaning strong, heavy paper or pasteboard) is a full-size drawing made on sturdy paper as a study or modello for a painting, stained glass, or tapestry. Cartoons were typically used in the production of frescoes, ...blah blah blah. Such cartoons often have pinpricks along the outlines of the design; a bag of soot was then patted or "pounced" over the cartoon, held against the wall to leave black dots on the plaster ("pouncing"). /b1b, 21b, 21Or a projector can be useful.