what sort of keyboard?

RishanRishan 454 Posts
edited October 2008 in Strut Central
i am going for piano lessons again because i want to be able to play the keyboard and make my own music. i am a technophobe and complete beginner when it comes to musical equipment and computers, shit i never got beyond the walkman for crying out loud. i need some big time help and advice.b,121b,121i haven't played piano for about 20 years, used to go for lessons when i was very small, but gave it up like everything else in my life. i plan to learn the bass guitar too. its time to do some things i want to do for a change.b,121b,121what is a good basic home set up for someone new to all this? will i be able to use the stuff, or should i go for a music production course? honestly, i need someone to break it down into the simplest form, because i just have no clue. what does everyone use and why? (ie what does each bit do?)b,121b,121i am thinking i will need the following: computer with music programme, sampler with sequencer, keyboard with a bunch of stuff on it. some bits of kit claim to do lots of things, so what do i need and what do i not need?b,121b,121it all seems so bloody complicated. are there any good websites for equipment or information? i've seen labcabin, but can't really make head nor tail of it.b,121b,121thank you so much to anyone who takes the time to share some knowledge.

Comments