I flew first class

kitchenknightkitchenknight 4,922 Posts
edited April 2008 in Strut Central
Holy shit, I have seen behind the curtain. And I liked it.During our 1 hour runway delay, the folks in coach were scolded into only getting water, and not asking for more. Meanwhile, I worked through 3 vodka-tonics, and a warmed bowl of cashews and pistachios.A woman spilled a coke on her sweatshirt; a stewardess spent 25 minutes and two cans of club soda cleaning out the stain.Not to mention the leg room. I'm a big guy- 6'3"/230, and I could cross my legs and read. And get loaded on free cocktails. Drunk out of REAL glasses!Shit was great. I'm a coach guy, and this was a surprise luxury on a business trip. Most of my flying for my life will be done with the herd in back. But, damn...I'm saving my miles, and I'm going for the upgrade.

Comments

• CosmoCosmo 9,768 Posts
    Yeah man, there really is no going back. I'm looking to do first class to Asia this September. For those long flights, that's when it's REALLY worth it.

• Yeah man, there really is no going back. I'm looking to do first class to Asia this September. For those long flights, that's when it's REALLY worth it.

Exactly. 2 hours to chicago? Fuck it.

5 hours from the Dominican Republic?

• FlomotionFlomotion 2,390 Posts
    An extra ??3000 on the price of a long haul plane ticket is not worth it unless work is paying. I don't even think Business is worth the price I have to pay.

• dmacdmac 472 Posts
    But, damn...I'm saving my miles, and I'm going for the upgrade.

Absolutely worth it for cross-country/intercontinental travel. Arrive refreshed. Or drunk.
    It kinda allows you to hit the ground running when you arrive, instead of groaning and cramped. That means the world when you're on business, or even more so when you're on vacation. Maximizes fun time.

• The-gafflerThe-gaffler 2,190 Posts
    welcome to the club

• SwayzeSwayze 14,705 Posts