Fulltone Tube Tape Echo (equipment-R)

johmbolayajohmbolaya 4,472 Posts
edited August 2007 in Strut Central
I read about this in EQ Magazine and would like to use it. It's above my budget to purchase, but Jackpot Studio in Portland has it. I would like to use it for the album I'm doing now, and wondering if anyone has had any experience with it? Some of the people on the Gearslutz board have praised it, and while it is geared towards guitarists, any input would work.Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• very classy.
    if you appreciate the mechanical nuances of a gritty tape echo though, well, the old shit still rocks.

fulltone - tubes, stereo, low noise, tape - good.
    and expensive.

for what kind of project/use?

• SPlDEYSPlDEY Vegas 3,375 Posts
    Well, I'm a guitarist, and I've used the Fulltone for a couple months. It's definitely designed more for the production minded. I had to hook it up to a footswitch, but probably would never really want to use it for a live situation. It's a very easy to use really good sounding tape delay.

If you don't know anything about analog delays the thing that sets this apart is that it's super clean, it doesn't have that echoplex tape flutter, and it will only repeat what's put into it (it does not introduce any weird warble or anything else).

The problem I had with it, the tape cartridge was worn down, so I had to get another which wasn't available anywhere in town. SO, I had to Ebay a tape cartridge for an effect I was borrowing, and it took about a month. Making it pretty useless for me for about a month. Though the few weeks that I actually got to use it completly sold me, If I could afford any analog delay I'd pick it up. I'm actually looking into buying a roland space echo, which I've only ever heard of, but never actually played to solve my live dilemma. What exactly will you be using it for?

- spidey

• very classy.