More MLB Racism from Gary Sheffield's Mouthlps

2»

Comments

• Quote from the great mind of gary sheffield.

???Imagine if you came to work and you wanted to be positive, and somebody made a positive situation negative. I don't want to be negative. I've been fighting for 17 years, always negative. Why can't I have something positive done????

He just wants to get along or maybe he meant unless your a easily controlled underpaid latino. Bottom line is guy needs to retire he is not Tony Gwynn.

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts

Ok, I think I understand where we are seeing differently I'm taking Sheffields words as only meaning those in MLB. I don't think for a second that any business/ business man is going to spend money on prospects if they don't have to. Perhaps a smarter business man will see tha if he drops another zero on the offer for a potential player people will be more eager to sign, but until then its all about saving a buck for these guys on top. Is it exploitative? it's debatable after all if a prospect does pan out he is living pretty well. Sosa's $3,500 initial signing is peanuts compared to what he's making this year as an aged, cork swinging, steroid filled powerhitter.

But that doesn't take away from his words saying that he knows there are sub par, easily controlled guys playing baseball and he attributes it to their race
    Agreed.

• drewnicedrewnice 5,465 Posts
    I think what Sheffield's comments might really be saying is....These damn foriegners are coming here and taking our jobs....sounds familar.

I was waiting for someone to resort to the South Park argument.

Did you read the article I posted a link to above?

How do you explain Latin players agreeing with Sheffield?

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    Either way it just comes off as slightly racist. Mad doggie style.

b/w

How the fuck you gone defend dis shit?

• hammertimehammertime 2,389 Posts