CLICK OF DEATH

BamboucheBambouche 1,484 Posts
edited May 2007 in Strut Central
The Iomega Zip drive (100MB external, SCSI) I've been using since 1998 just recently died. I am using the drive in combination with an Akai S3000XL sampler, which is a rackmount hardware device. After hearing the infamous 'click of death' I unplugged the drive and bought a replacement off eBay (Iomega no longer manufacturers external SCSI zip drives). I hooked the replacement drive up--insuring my SCSI ID and Termination settings on the replacement drive match those of the dead drive--and the sampler keeps saying "HARD DISK ERROR."I've double-checked the SCSI settings in the Global section, rebooted the sampler, referred to the manual, checked the internet, etc.It's been 9 years since I originally hooked up the first Zip drive, so I could be forgetting something, but I am stumped.Any ideas?

Comments

• kalakala 3,358 Posts
    Bam

don't put anymore zips in as they will be ruined
    go here for scsi drives that work

http://www.scsiforsamplers.com/all_products.asp?CR-2

i did three from ebay on the cheap -none of them worked right and i got the same error mess

sorry to hear about your loss
    there was an extensive thread on this when whats his name ?from dilated peoples or is it P.U.T.S? went thru this maybe 6-8 months ago
    the bottom line is the dudes at iomega should be tortured to death
    there was a class action suit filed
    i think some people got a check for 8 bucks
    suckage CUNT scukage
    L13

• Controller_7Controller_7 4,052 Posts