If the only "new" hip-hop i like nowadays is...

tonyphronetonyphrone 1,500 Posts
edited April 2007 in Strut Central
... Ghostface, MF Doom, The Clipse, Devin the dude, Outkast, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Dilla, Pharoah Monch and Sean P - does that make me a hipster or an aging backpacker? Or just plain old I mean there's been other singles here and there- but the above are the only artists that I've been checking for the last 5+ years. Can anyone else relate?

Comments

• CosmoCosmo 9,768 Posts
    I hear you bro.

• PonyPony 2,283 Posts
    Yeah.

There is plenty of other exciting music coming out right now though. 07' should be a good year for new sounds. I ain't mad.

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts
    Yeah, I know what you're saying, the issue is that there are a lot of great independent artists out there who have solid stuff, but very few (PUTS, Ugly Duckling, Lyrics Born, Crown City, etc.) have been able to put out records that really give the older stuff a run for the money. Or if they do, a lot of them go in different directions and get labeled not hip-hop enough, or too different. There are a lot of reasons/excuses for this, but I'm with Pony, times are changing and 07 looks good.

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
    ... Ghostface, MF Doom, The Clipse, Devin the dude, Outkast, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Dilla, Pharoah Monch and Sean P - does that make me a hipster or an aging backpacker? Or just plain old

I mean there's been other singles here and there- but the above are the only artists that I've been checking for the last 5+ years. Can anyone else relate?

I don't think that makes you old - most of those artists are older, sure, but they're making good music in the present (well, ok, maybe not Jay-Z) so it's not like you're sitting at home, just listening to "Only Built" and "The Infamous" all day.

• tonyphronetonyphrone 1,500 Posts
    Yeah.