on some soldering iron ish

ChairmasterChairmaster 45 Posts
edited January 2007 in Strut Central
I'm a writer (and long time SS lurker) for a magazine based in new york and I'm doing a story on something that could hold some interest for the people of SoulStrut.The feature is on the creative uses of dead and/or broken technology, and seeing as how there's a lot of know how and ingenuity on SS there should be quite a few people who've done something in this vein. A few examples of things i've found are an old sewing machine rigged to wrap the hair-thin wire used in contructing guitar pickups, a 16-year-old who took the uranium from 50 old smoke detectors and built a working nuclear reactor (this kid is quite elusive though), and the more typical fish tank built inside a television or iMac. I realize my lurking status will probably bring out the , but this is something that a lot of people could get down on, so post or PM me if you like.

Comments

• SPlDEYSPlDEY Vegas 3,375 Posts
    Nice, don't know if too many of these guys are into this stuff. But it really calls out to the inner engineer in me. The site I go to for this specifically is www.instructables.com followed by my love of Make magazine. On the personal tip I haven't really done much modding save for homemade headphones, homemade pedalboard, and some computer related ish, but I think I'm going to start making guitar pedals this year. I also want to try to do the walkman's into a mellotron that's a badass project.

- spidey

• hemolhemol 2,578 Posts
    I build contact microphones with piezos. This is a pretty common thing though.

• what you're reporting on is extremely broad. if you're looking for a music theme, do some research on circuit bending. the price for certain ancient kids toys has gone up huge because of the capabilities of these electronics.

i've personally bent a TI Math & Spell and it has some weird nonsense output, but a very rich sound.