College radio???

oh_reallyoh_really 71 Posts
edited January 2007 in Strut Central
a friend of mine is a dj at the university radio station and asked me if i wanted to start doing a live mix show with him, me doing the mixing and him talking and doing all the other technical radio stuff. Our first show is this fri. I've never done any radio work before so i'm not really sure what to expect, I'm planning to run my Microwave, but i was wondering if I could get a little info. help, inside tip, on anything I should know/do. I know there has got to be some people on here with the experience to lend a hand in making sure i don't come off too amature. Maybe a good way of getting radio edits, or possibly doing your own radio edits. anything...school me...thanks.

Comments

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts
    What time is the show? Cause after 10pm FCC censorship rules don't apply, though a station may choose to enforce them anyways. Out of curiosity, what school is the station affiliated with?

Oh, and #1 mistake made by all college radio DJs: too much talking, not enough music. Unless you have something really great to say, shut up and give the people music.

• Show starts at 6:30 to 9:00 pm so I gots ta keep it clean. It' s for 770 radio k U of Minnesota.

• KidKKidK 119 Posts
    Just began my forray into college radio, but here's what I can contribute:

-The on air personality will get most of the credit for the show. If you're okay with that, then cool.
    -It may be tempting to play that dopest hottest freshest beat while he's talking, but that'll take away attention from your man and make for a confusing listening experience. Play someting laid back and non agressive, then when he's done rambling, flip it into something stupid hot.