Carpel Tunnel

Funky_MimizuFunky_Mimizu 631 Posts
edited January 2007 in Strut Central
Who's got this shit, and how do you deal with it?I've been working a masonry job, for a couple months, and a couple weeks into it, my fingertips started going numb. Feels like my hands are kinda asleep 24 hours a day. Anyhow, thought it would go away, but its only gotten worse. Now I get like the funny bone sensation in my wrists when I am pulling blocks. Anyhow, after reading up on carpel tunnel, sounds like thats what it is.I got no medical insurance, so can anyone give me some tips for dealing with this shit?Thanks in advance.Peace...FNM

Comments

• DjArcadianDjArcadian 3,630 Posts
    If it's job related you can get on disability and workers comp will cover medical. You don't even need permission from your employer to see the doctor. Just tell the doctor it's work related. Your boss will find out and probably won't like it but it's not worth having fucked up hands the rest of your life.

• twoplytwoply Only Built 4 Manzanita Links 2,914 Posts
    Quit your job, or if possible get transferred to a different position. Years ago I worked on a printing press, stacking posters w/ UV coating. I had to grab a bunch and twist to get air between each sheet, and those fuckers come off the press fast. After four months I got tendinitis pretty bad and had to move to a different department. You never fully heal from these things, meaning you'll always be at risk of easily re-aggravating them in the future. That's probably not worth what you're getting paid.

• Yeah, I talked to my boss... and he said that I probably couldn't get workmans comp because carpel tunnel is a cumulative thing... If it happened to me quickly, while others work in masonry for 50 years without getting it, that means there were probably other problems contributing, the masonry was the last straw.