Rep your Magazine Subscriptions (rr or nrr)

2»

Comments

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts

I got my wife that cookbook last year. She's used it a bunch of times. So far, so good.

I need this one:

• kitchenknightkitchenknight 4,922 Posts

*Cook's Illustrated (get familiar!)

I went to a taping of "America's Test Kitchen" last week; had a blast. They were making Meatloaf & skillet potatoes, and they tasted great to me. I also noted that C. Kimball and the other chef kept eating after the camera stopped rolling- the sign of something that actually tastes good.

To be honest, some of their recipes are just far too fussy but that said, I treat their "Best Recipes" book (which is like...two phone books big) as my first source for any meal I'm contemplating.

That said, their old beef stew recipe used bacon grease to kick off the browning of the beef but in their new version, they took out the bacon.

FOUL.

I am a pretty ambitious home cook, but I find most cooking mags too fussy (hence, no subscriptions). I just found that a lot of magazine recipes didn't come out so hot, and required a lot of specialized ingredients (read: expensive). Maybe they just aren't as well tested or inconsistent filler, but I prefer the familiarity of cooking from a book.

These aren't necessarily problems w/ Cook's Illustrated, and I think they have a solid editorial mission, style, and voice. But, like you, I prefer their cookbooks to the magazines.

And, having toured the kitchen I will say this: they have a serious posse of young, cute test cooks. I mean, when we left, my fiancee turned to me and said, "There were a lot of cute young girls in there. Did you notice?"

Umm...yes, I did, honey.

Edit: gram.mar.

• DrWuDrWu 4,021 Posts
    I get a shit pile of mags via work stuff:

-Fader
    -Complex
    -Vice
    -Filter
    -XLR8R
    -URB
    -Scratch
    -Wax Po'
    -Stop Smiling
    -Arktip
    -YRB
    -All the Snowboard Mags
    -Anthem
    -The Royal
    -ID