I got fired for playing Hip-Hop in Oakland, CA!

Comments

• Birdman9Birdman9 5,417 Posts

The guy was employing you. You play what he wants you to play

I disagree, a bar/club owner should hire you to play, based on your style. Its not your fault if he gets it wrong.

It's no good hiring a carpenter if you need a plumber.

But if you make a mistake and hire a plumber, no sense in keeping him on either.
    I think that in this case, Gnat is better off free to find a better gig for himself. When I worked in the temporary staffing field, we would call this 'not a good fit'.

It's the same situation here at this club I DJ at. My man Blake does Fridays and gets the place totally hype on hip hop, the place gets packed, with a line out the door and everything. Then the owner shows up, gets mad, says "NO HIP HOP. Play house." So Blake does that, and the dancefloor clears like the red sea. Of course when the owner leaves, Blake puts the hip hop back on, the dancefloor gets busy again. BTW the "offensive" hip hop in question is usually hardcore gangster rap like.... Salt'n'Pepa "Push It."

I understand about playing what the owner wants cos they're the boss, but 95% of clubowners have no idea how to run a club, and their pay for DJs is crap anyway. So I have no problem with DJs giving 'em a piece of their mind and just doing what they wanna do, ESPECIALLY IF IT'S IN THE CLUB'S BEST INTEREST.

I think that's great if there is a reciprical relationship and the club owner is looking for feedback from the DJ and vice versa....but some situations just have to rise or fall on their own before people figure out what's 'best for the club'.