Favorite Japanese 70/80's soundtracks?

I wanted to know if anybody had a favorite Japanese movie or tv show soundtrack or knew one that was superb.  Anything from cop shows to cartoons...I would like to hear some good ones.

Comments

• DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,896 Posts
    I would love to hear some stuff as well. I have zero knowledge of soundtracks.

countmacula

• para11axpara11ax No-style-havin' mf'er 398 Posts
    Keitaro Miho's OST for Gorilla 7 is the best I've ever heard as far as Japanese OSTs go. There are some early 80's anime joints that are dope as well, but my memory is failing me right meow.

This is alright.

Check this beast out...one of my alltime OST fave tracks:

countmacula

• Somewhere in my CDs I have a compilation called Eat It Raw that is all Japanese library/OSTs from that era and is great, but I've never been in a position to cop individual joints. The comp might be worth checking out for ideas though, it had a lot of good stuff.

PS. Gorilla 7 is crazy! That Wairudo Bito track... "wild beat"
    para11axcountmacula

• DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,896 Posts
    Thanks for posting. The playlist is pretty dope. The   2nd video "Daitokai - Part 2" whole playlist is exactly what I need right now.

para11axcountmacula

• OkemOkem 4,617 Posts
    Probably not what you're after as it's not fonky but it's still one of my favourite 80s OSTs, Japanese or otherwise.

mattB

• OkemOkem 4,617 Posts
    I don't think the Japanese did Libraries did they? They would use Western ones occasionally but I don't think there was a domestic production system like they had in Europe. It's a shame cause they would undoubtedly be some killer stuff, especially in the 80s with the whole City Pop, YMO & general Fourth-World weirdness going on in Japan. 

Japanese Spiderman was pretty fonky

& this playlist should scratch that itch 

countmacula

• mattBmattB (FTB) Anywhere 673 Posts
    Symphonic Suite Akira... awesome @Okem 

Yeah, JP Spidey rules too.