MPC HELP (REPAIR? BAY AREA???!??! DIRE STRAITS!)

Young_PhonicsYoung_Phonics 8,039 Posts
edited September 2005 in Strut Central
dudes:My MPC has been on the fritz for a minute (I have to keep jingling the master volume knob just it can play out of both chanels). It's even affecting how the "loudness" when I sample into the machine. Anyone know a place in the Bay where I can get it fixed I don't want to send this shit to Akai because:1). They take forever 2). Many people have told me of shit coming back worse or all fucked up.I'm almost desperate. I'mma start sounding like Freeway and Young Jeezy in a few.

Comments

• Leo's in the east bay--not cheap, but they fixed up my 3K proper.

http://www.leosaudio.com/

• MoSSMoSS 458 Posts
    If you got some balls try opening up yourself. I'm no expert by any means, but I replaced my LCD screen, upgraded my memory, replaced my buttons and fixed the headphone out by myself. I'm not even well versed in that kind of shit...actually I'm not versed at all. I had to buy a soldering gun that morning. lol. The only thing I'll warn you about is if you do try this, make sure you're careful of the screen on the non-xl version when lifting the top off. It's stuck with some type of glue or double sided tape. You need to be careful not to rip the cabling. Don't get me wrong, it's not fragile...hell...I didn't know it was there and I'm not light on the hands by any means and mine was fine...but I'd hate for that to happen

Of course, don't blame me if something goes wrong...lol. In all honesty however the inside of the MPC is pretty straight forward. It's really no different (actually less) than a PC.

Parts are cheap too. I replaced *ALL* my buttons for $3.40. My headphone out cost me $1.80...and my LCD was under $100. I bet that would have been $500+ in parts and labour if Akai did it....

• knewjakknewjak 1,231 Posts