Summer Finds Pt. 2 - Lil??? Dudes Unite

M1NYAM1NYA 18 Posts
edited September 2005 in Strut Central
I really enjoy all the weekly finds posts here, but rarely have much to show of interest for the elite diggers. I couldn???t find the original summer finds post, so I thought I would start another one. These are some of the recs I found this summer that, in my opinion, have cool standout tracks that others may enjoy. No raer holy grail material here??? just recs with tunes I find myself playing often. You can tell from my writing I am no expert or historian on music??? I simply enjoy vinyl like everyone else on this board.

From the top left:

1) Cryan Shames / Synthesis (Columbia - ????)

This is a nice rock LP with several good tunes. My favourite is ???Your Love??? which is a slow ballad with strings. A quick google search shows that this band is from Chicago and this was their last of three LPs.

2) Urszula (Arista - 1975)

Produced by Michal Urbaniak. I like the song ???Papaya??? with its funky breakdowns and high pitched vocals. Dudziak makes a bunch of crazy noises.

3) The Bendeth Band (RCA - 1981)

I love ???I Was There??? ??? probably my favourite disco find of the summer. Did this chart? I cannot see why??? the vocals and chorus are fantastic.

4) David Fanshawe - African Sanctus (Phillips - 1975)

???Lord???s Prayer??? is really nice with a funky repeating vocals at the end. I assume this song was a hit of some sort based on the ???including..??? text on the cover.

5) Steel Vibrations (Calypan - 197?)

???Oye - Come Va??? is a nice, funky, drum heavy steel drum cover. You used to be able to buy/hear it on www.breakz4dayz.com.

6) Kano - Ahjia (Unidisc - 1980)

This is a disco tune with crazy keyboards that makes me piss my pants. They are singing about ???7 golden doors??? or something, but its hard to make out because of the accent. I am only up on Kano???s ???Im Ready??? tune??? so I need to hunt down the LP this is from.