Memphis tips

hiactionsghiactionsg 1 Post
edited September 2011 in Strut Central
Hey everyone, I'm relatively new to collecting. I've kind of been dipping my toes in it for the last couple of years but I've recently gotten the urge to get more into it....thanks to my good friend who is an avid soulstrut follower and collector. I've heard about digging in southern states and I'm going to be in Memphis in a couple of weeks for a quick work trip (about 2 days or so and only a small portion of time that won't be work). At this point I won't have a rental car but that may change last minute. Any suggestions for places to check out (keeping in mind the transportation and time restraints)?
I'm so into old soul, funk and jazz right now but I don't know a lot of the record labels to be looking for that will give me the cream of the crop. I'm relatively familiar with the artists to look for in the jazz category but I'm pretty green on a the funk and soul artists. Any help or direction to information is great appreciated. Thanks everyone.

Comments

• go to the Stax museum instead. eat at Ellen's (check first, make sure you're not heading to the closed location).

i don't know if you could do all the stores by public bus and it might be pretty grueling to try. if you have limited time enjoy yourself and skip the records. check the archive, it feels like this thread has been done ten times or more.

• herbacios tweed said:
    go to the Stax museum instead. eat at Ellen's (check first, make sure you're not heading to the closed location).

i don't know if you could do all the stores by public bus and it might be pretty grueling to try. if you have limited time enjoy yourself and skip the records. check the archive, it feels like this thread has been done ten times or more.

cosign on Ellens (the new location is open at the corner of Lamar and Bellevue...behind the gas station) and Stax