Best program for ripping CDs to MP3?

hogginthefogghogginthefogg 6,098 Posts
edited August 2005 in Strut Central
I'm way behind the times, but I just ordered an iAudio mp3 player (the X5L, for those that care). I use CDex to rip CDs to MP3, but is there a better program? Many of the CDs I'll be ripping are mix CDs, so don't bother recommending anything that puts a little in between tracks where there shouldn't be one.Thanks.

Comments

• BrianBrian 7,618 Posts
    EAC (ripper) and LAME (encoder) are what I've been using for the past five years or so.

• phono13phono13 842 Posts
    Hogg...not related...but you've been PM'd.

• autezautez 404 Posts
    EAC (ripper) and LAME (encoder) are what I've been using for the past five years or so.
    yeah this is what you need

http://s20.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2W19KK2PAQ8VA29W3G0EBHJDHK

• EAC (ripper) and LAME (encoder) are what I've been using for the past five years or so.
    yeah this is what you need

Damn, Dude! Thanks.

• bropsbrops 182 Posts
    iTunes.

I even use iTunes to put the mp3s onto my old, old mp3 player. All in one. Can't get any better than that.

• slavinslavin 577 Posts
    iTunes.

• BrianBrian 7,618 Posts
    The CD ripper for iTunes doesn't have as great error detection as EAC and the LAME encoder is the best one out there. iTunes is easy to use but the quality is lacking.

• iAudio players should come bundled with a program called JetShell, which will encode your CDs to mp3 directly onto your player or your harddrive. Should be gapless, but my iAudio (M3) always has a about a .2 second gap between tracks regardless of the software I used.

• debardebar 215 Posts
    I'm way behind the times, but I just ordered an iAudio mp3 player (the X5L, for those that care). I use CDex to rip CDs to MP3, but is there a better program? Many of the CDs I'll be ripping are mix CDs, so don't bother recommending anything that puts a little in between tracks where there shouldn't be one.

Thanks.