Detroit Techno/Deep House Music Thread

kennykenny 1,024 Posts
edited April 2010 in Strut Central
I'm new to this genre, please put me up on some labels/producers/essential underground shit that I should dig into?I don't even know the difference between all these sub genres of techno and house music to be honest, but from checking mixes by people like Trus Me, Theo, Ron Hardy, Jamie 326 etc., there is just this distinct sound that I like and all my friends tells me its the Detroit underground sound that I should be into...its minimal, its very thumping on the kick and bass, but more lo-fi and dirty than usual techno/house which is clean and tinny.too much info, anyways, people of the Strut please educate me.Thank yous.

Comments

• kennykenny 1,024 Posts

btw I been listening to Theo Parrish "Chemistry" way too much, so I guess this is it that got me into the sound I'm looking for.

Also, stuff like Kirk Degiorgio, Motor City Drum Ensemble (though MCDE is more towards disco house?)

• ja_bruceja_bruce 295 Posts
    Detroit house artists...

Moodymann, Theo Parrish, 2 Bit Project, 3 Chairs, Delano Smith, K Hand, Marcellus Pittman, Norm Talley, Rick Wade, Rick Wilhite, Terrence Parker

Techno labels...

Transmat, Planet-E, KMS, Submerge, 430 West, Metroplex, Underground Resistance

Detroit Techno artists...

Carl Craig, Juan Atkins, UR, Alton Miller, Anthony Shakir, Blake Baxter, Eddie Fowlkes, Kenny Larkin, Mad Mike, Octave One, Suburban Knight

• mrmatthewmrmatthew 1,575 Posts
    Im a real big fan of Omar S and his OASIS series.

• kennykenny 1,024 Posts

Omar S

I think I just picked up a 12" of his the other day. definitely what i'm diggin into...

• phatmoneysackphatmoneysack Melbourne 1,124 Posts
    Detroit house artists...

Moodymann, Theo Parrish, 2 Bit Project, 3 Chairs, Delano Smith, K Hand, Marcellus Pittman, Norm Talley, Rick Wade, Rick Wilhite, Terrence Parker

Techno labels...