recording vinyl for reissue (QR)

KineticKinetic 3,739 Posts
edited December 2008 in Strut Central
So... a prominent label has just contacted me asking if i can provide them with a CD copy of a particular Australian jazz track that they plan to reissue. It's never been on CD before, and they want a CD copy of the track, and it looks like I'm the only person that can provide them with it. b, 21b, 21My question is, how do I record a track from vinyl to CD and ensure it is of high enough quality that they can use it to reissue the track? Is there some quality standard for this type of thing?b, 21b, 21 img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/game02vy9.gif" alt="" 21 img src="/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/870.gif" alt="" 21

Comments

• KineticKinetic 3,739 Posts
    I should add that the label has all the relevant permissions in order, but no-one can locate the original masters so hence the situation.

• UnherdUnherd 1,880 Posts
    I'm no expert, and obv not familiar with the budget involved, but it would seem like taking it to a studio and using high quality pre's and converters would be in their interest, especially the way people around here have been talking about the transfer job on that Verocai reish that came out....

• DJBombjackDJBombjack Miami 1,665 Posts
    ^^^ What he said.b, 21You're going to want a needle as neutral-sounding as possible, and either 1 or 2 inch reel to reel or 24 bit digital mastering. They can EQ the track if required at the studio and believe me this ain't gonna be something you should slap on a 1200 with a 44-7.