Soldering Job Strut

thedailyhustlethedailyhustle 151 Posts
edited January 2008 in Strut Central
I have 2 and 1/2 years experience fabricating circuit boards from bare panel to finished board ready to be loaded with components, at a PCB mfg'ing shop here in Vacaville. I was laid off a couple months ago. I have an interview coming up for a soldering tech position in Davis, CA, which isnt my first choice but my unemployment insurance is wearing down and I need to get back on my feet. Going to be soldering thru hole and surface mount components to PCBs, i assume for 8+ hours a day. Any of you held a position like this? How was it? Experiences appreciated.

Comments

• BamboucheBambouche 1,484 Posts
    I agree, it sounds like you'll be soldering all day every day.

I worked in a PCB factory for a few years. I "baked" PCBs during the graveyard shift, flattening the boards after they'd been manufactured/plated/coated and before they hit rigid needle testing. One of the worst jobs I've ever had (including working for my dad, shoveling tortellini onto a conveyor belt, brick laying, post hole digging).

This was in the early '90s. My mother, god bless her beating heart, was a manager in the testing department, and besides the two of us (and that one crazy dude in the chemical treatment area), we were the only non-Filipino folks up in there. I was regularly treated to the best lumpia this side of Quezon City by all the loving and caring Filipino moms working their asses off in that shithole. Such a wonderful group of women in such an awful place.

The factory was shut down in the late '90s when the semiconductor industry moved to India. I was already gone, but my mom, who had been there 18 years, was fired without warning or severance. She ricocheted around the semiconductor industry for another two years as companies went bankrupt and fucked her out of back pay before claiming bankruptcy herself and ending up on unemployment. She works at a candy store now.