School Me: Marshall Hooks on Blue Horizon

SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
edited September 2007 in Strut Central
Anyone have this one? Seen it described as funk, blues, rock ...Can I get a Soul Strut review? OR[/b]

Comments

• All I can say is school me too, because I just know Marshall Hooks from being the guitar player with bluesman/black rock 'n' roller Kid Thomas, the missing link between Little Walter and Little Richard:

Because it's on a UK-based blues label, I'm assuming it's in that vein. But it looks like it oughta be one of those Hendrix/Electric Mud "psych blues" deals.

As an aside, DC-area bluesman Bobby Parker sez that he was hooked up with Blue Horizon for a minute - they were trying to turn him into another Hendrix. So when he refused, I guess they worked that same line on Hooks?

I've heard of this LP, but this is my first time seeing it. Living Blues once reviewed a blues comp that had a few Kid Thomas tracks on it, and mentioned Hooks' album in passing, implying that it was kinda mediocre.

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts

Nobody has/had this shit and can give a review?

• Favourite tunes are the instrumental funk track "hookin' it" and the slow rock song "facts of life". The rest is a solid mixture of funk, blues and rock. His voice reminds me of screamin jay hawkins with a little blues touch. I've found this copy for just a few bucks and seen it in the past swapping hands for about 50$. I can definitely recommend this record especially if you like this blues, rock vibe that is typical for most songs of the record.

• Soul On Ice: not to get geeky on you, but is that Blue Horizon album shown in the first post an American pressing?

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
    Soul On Ice: not to get geeky on you, but is that Blue Horizon album shown in the first post an American pressing?

I think it's British - I took it from eBay.
    Here's the label from the same copy:

I'm still not sure what to expect from this LP,