What are you paying for school?

jaymackjaymack 5,199 Posts
edited July 2007 in Strut Central
And was it fuckin worth it?Cause today I just figured out that over the next 20 years I'll be paying $63,588 for an Associates Degree in Recording that I don't even use. I make more at my job now than any shitty job reference they(the school) could give me, which has actually been about one since I graduated in december '05. Granted I had a school loan left over from when I was 18/19 and I quit cause I couldn't handle it yet. Well I went back for about four more semesters to finish, and I really wish I hadn't. I couldve got a house!WTF!?!Kids don't go to communications school. Unless you wanna lug around sound equipment for a living, and live with your parent till your 40.

Comments

• sabadabadasabadabada 5,966 Posts
    28K per year. and it better be.

• JimBeamJimBeam Seattle. 2,012 Posts
    I've been grappling with this sort of thing recently.

A Bachelor's degree ain't shit anymore for the most part. Grad schools with high job placement rates are so damn expensive though.

Anyone here go to or is a Haas alumni? Anyone go to a top tier business school?

I'd like to pick your brain if I could... PM, thanks.

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts
    Damn man, I can't believe you spent that much on a recording degree....that is absurd.

I think I'll end up paying around $16,000 for tuition for 4 years of school at UC Santa Cruz, obviously not including any of the living expenses or other business during that period. (or airfare to study in Brazil, yikes!) Still feels like a lot, I'll end up with around $7,000 in loans when I'm through. I know this is peanuts compared to what some people end up with, but it feels like a lot, especially when school is so much cheaper in other countries.

I have zero interest in going to graduate school anytime soon, if at all.