Teachers/Coaches/Motivators

yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
edited June 2007 in Strut Central
How do yall get kids to be more interested in Math, English, basketball, whatever?What are some tips.

Comments

• jaymackjaymack 5,199 Posts
    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    Serious responses plaese.

I've been assistant coaching a kids team in my free time.

From a psychological standpoint, I've heard that punishment is less effective than reinforcement.

Discuss....

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    I do reading and books. k - 4. I am not a professional.

Well yeah, positive reinforcement is always better than negative.

1) One on one attention. Kids crave one on one.

2) High intrest. With books I can do dinosaurs, or volcanos or mummies or fantasy or sports so it's easy. Math creates more challenges. I think baseball is great for math. When counting balls and strikes you are using base 4 and base 3. lots of stuff like that. $$$$ are not a bad way to teach money. If you know that 4 quarters equal a dollar you know fractions.

3) No testing.

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts

From a psychological standpoint, I've heard that punishment is less effective than reinforcement.

Discuss....

Yuichi-

I've been coaching for the past 4 years, and our biggest thing is that on our court, you work hard to have fun. We don't allow any trash talking, and you will sit out if you complain to the ref. We run an offense that encourages ball movement throughout the team (in practice and scrimmages it's a turnover to pass the ball without cutting away afterwards) and try not to let any game become a one-man show. I've had kids go from being troublemakers throwing tantrums to team leaders who pass up an open 3-pointer so that they can share the ball with their team. Granted, it's not a typical program and we have a phenomenal director, but even when it's frustrating, kids really do get a lot out of it.