The Chewbacca Defense

DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
edited May 2007 in Strut Central
So, I was looking this up to post it in a thread that has since been removed, due to inflammatory content. It turns out that there is now a wikipedia article about it which claims the term has gained some small currency in legal circles. Lawyers - are they now teaching the Chewbacca Defense in law school?Cochran[/b]: Why would a Wookiee, an eight-foot tall Wookiee, want to live on Endor, with a bunch of two-foot tall Ewoks? That does not make sense! But more important, you have to ask yourself: What does this have to do with this case? Nothing. Ladies and gentlemen, it has nothing to do with this case! It does not make sense! Look at me. I'm a lawyer defending a major record company, and I'm talkin' about Chewbacca! Does that make sense? Ladies and gentlemen, I am not making any sense! None of this makes sense! And so you have to remember, when you're in that jury room deliberatin' and conjugatin' the Emancipation Proclamation, [approaches and softens] does it make sense? No! Ladies and gentlemen of this supposed jury, it does not make sense! If Chewbacca lives on Endor, you must acquit! The defense rests."Look at the silly monkey!

Comments

• GuzzoGuzzo 8,611 Posts
    never heard of it

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    As excerpted from Wikipedia:

The Chewbacca Defense has been applied to real world legal strategies in the media and by some legal experts. Commentator Michael Masnick of Techdirt Corporate Intelligence noted[/b] in 2003 that Trojan horse defense was becoming a key defence strategy in computer crime cases, particularly highlighting a claim made by a Slashdot story poster regarding the SCO v. IBM case: