Zoetrope-style ads in the BART tunnel

hogginthefogghogginthefogg 6,098 Posts
edited March 2007 in Strut Central
This is pretty freaky to see on your morning commute:

For Bay folks, you can see it on your way to Embarcadero from Montgomery. or ???I think it's kinda rad, but it doesn't necessarily make me wanna shop at Target any more than I already do.

Comments

• DjArcadianDjArcadian 3,630 Posts
    I must have zoned out this morning because I didn't see it. I usually have my face in a newspaper. Anyway, I need less advertising in my life.

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    They had those in the subway from Harvard to Central Square in Boston several months back. Pretty cool as a novelty, but I still didn't find myself motivated to book the cruise they were advertising.

• marumaru 1,450 Posts
    fuck dude. i had that same EXACT idea when i was an advertising student a year ago. it was for nike though. so much for that.

• drewnicedrewnice 5,465 Posts
    All advertising departments need you to do is remember the name. So the next time you have a choice of where to shop or book a cruise, their company pops up in your head as an option. You may not know why, but it could have been that ridiculously annoying drive-by attack subway ad. The are no rules anymore as companies elbow eachother out of the way for your attention. I think it's fascinating.

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    All advertising departments need you to do is remember the name. So the next time you have a choice of where to shop or book a cruise, their company pops up in your head as an option.

True. It didn't work so well, though, as all I remember about it is the picture of the ship moving toward an island. No worse than static advertising, though. At least there's some movement to look at.

• tirefiretirefire 203 Posts